Help & Learning Center

What are the eligibility requirements for the Corteva Carbon Initiative?


Recently Implemented a Qualifying Practice Change:

You can enroll your fields in our carbon program by either implementing a qualifying practice in the upcoming crop season or if you’ve implemented a qualifying practice since the conclusion of last season. When determining if your practice change will count, it’s important to remember that the practice change window starts the day after the date of the last harvest for the field.​


Qualifying practices:

  • Introduce Cover Crops
  • Reduce Tillage
  • Improved Nitrogen Timing
  • Diversifying Crop Rotation


Keep in mind that at least 25% of the field boundary area must exhibit this new carbon farming practice to qualify.



  • You must have the exclusive rights to operate the fields you plan to enroll
  • The fields you plan to enroll cannot already be in a program in which you are paid for generating carbon credits



Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin


Land Type:

Cropland that has not cleared of native vegetation in the last 10 years.

At this time, we do not service rangeland, pastureland, orchards, vineyards, or other afforested areas. Fruits and vegetables are also ineligible.



Barley, Canola (Fall & Spring planted), Corn, Cotton, Dry Edible Beans, Dry Field Peas, Flax, Oats, Peanuts, Rye, Sorghum, Soybeans, Sugar Beets, Sunflowers, Triticale, Wheat (Winter & Spring).

If you farm a crop not included here such as Alfalfa, Rice, Potatoes, or Pumpkins, those fields are not currently eligible.


Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful